amazing and cool shit, dinner time conversation, miscellaneous, drivel, tom being tom

…faces and places…

20140729-212803.jpg

I know, I am lucky. I have been to Europe twice now, all within the span of a year and a half. If you’d asked me 3 or 4 years ago if I ever thought it was even a remote possibility that I would even get there once, I know I would have laughed and said no.

I learn more about myself every single day, find new things to fixate on and be occupied with. I look at them over the years and they never change, the things I write, the things that catch my eye, the things I find myself obligated to. We never really get to change who are, or how we see the world, or what we seek in life… Yet we always change, our lives and ambitions slow, we see things through different eyes, clouded with cataracts and presbyopia and a slow and daunting pessimism that creeps in under our skin along with the crow’s feet wrinkles that mark all the times we’ve smiled at things…

I saw Michelangelo’s ‘David’ once again, a few weeks ago… I sat once again, in the Academia Gallery/Museum in Florence and pulled out my sketch book and a pen and proceeded to sketch him from a different angle than last time…

20140729-214340.jpg

If you’ve never seen the sculpture in person, it is difficult to explain and fathom. Most of Europe, the treasures and antiquity and art are just that way… They were hundreds, if not thousands, of years old before America even became a country. There is no way to truly fathom that sort of age, or the skill and craft and culture that went behind the creation of them… David stands, I believe, about 17′ feet tall, carved from a single large block of Carrera Marble selected by Michelangelo. Originally it was to have sat up near the Duomo that Brunelleschi designed and built, viewed from far below, but it was never placed there… It now resides in a gallery along with a 6 other half finished sculptures by Michelangelo… On a wall near the entry to his works is a bust of him. I am not sure who sculpted him, but it intrigues me more than his works…

He is homely, and curiously sad and has the face of man who has probably been punched around a little bit… The stories of his personality show in his face… It is amazing that a man with such a gift for creating beauty, was his own version of something quite different… I wonder about his muse, who he thought of when sculpting, what was the great heroic force, the dynamic that prompted him…

Maybe it is why faces are such a divine mystery to me… Wondering what they say, the lines upon them, the beauty that lurks inside of them and hides behind the expressions they hold…

20140729-220439.jpg

Discussion

3 thoughts on “…faces and places…

  1. I hope you know you are a talented artist. I too have seen Michelangelo’s ‘David’ and it really is amazing to see and holds a strong energy around it. I remember standing before it for a long time fascinated by its beauty and detail. Great post.

    Karen

    Posted by Healing Grief | August 10, 2014, 4:58 am
    • Thank you, Karen. It is an awesome work of art to see in person!

      As for my own artistic talent, I am flattered. I am a visual person and I have only ever been able to comprehend the world around me in pictures, expressions, gestures, contexts, contrasts… It is frustrating sometimes, because I know much of the world doesn’t see the world as it looks to me, or understand/process it in terms that I do. And vice versa. Sometimes the world around me makes no sense at all, and I get caught up trying to picture it in some way shape or form so that it might… I suppose that is part of everyone’s journey; learning to speak the language that is in their heart, and not from their tongue. I can’t remember a time in my life when I haven’t wanted, more than anything, to simply sit in a corner, look at things and draw…

      Posted by Schilb Industrial Arts | August 10, 2014, 6:27 am
      • Well then thats exactly what you should do! If we all learnt to speak from our heart more and less from our tongue, Im sure we would have far less problems in the world.

        Posted by Healing Grief | August 10, 2014, 6:34 am

Leave a Reply

